New Hampshire Christmas Bird Count

2017 – Christmas Bird Count Preview

It’s time for the annual Christmas Bird Count! There are 21 counts in New Hampshire, and they are open to all interested birders. Many are run by New Hampshire Audubon Chapters. Check the list below for a count near you and contact the person listed if you’d like to help.

Each count takes place in a designated “count circle” on a specific day. The coordinator assigns teams to count birds in each section of the circle, but if you live in the circle you can simply count the birds in your backyard. Each count’s survey area stays the same from year to year, comprising a circle fifteen miles in diameter around a central point.

International in scope, the Christmas Bird Count is organized and compiled by the National Audubon Society, who coordinates all count circles so they don’t overlap. Each count picks its own particular survey day between December 14 and January 5. So join in a 100-year-old tradition and have some winter fun!

Results of New Hampshire’s Christmas Bird Counts are published in the winter issue of New Hampshire Bird Records. They are also available on the Christmas Bird Count web site.

1. Pittsburg – December 14
David Govatski (586-7776 or David.Govatski@gmail.com).
2. Errol-Umbagog – December 15
Contact: Chris Martin (224-9909 x317
or cmartin@nhaudubon.org).
3. Littleton – December 17
David Govatski (586-7776 or David.Govatski@gmail.com) or Mary Boulanger (444-6993 or mboul@roadrunner.com).
4. North Conway – December 16
Nora Dufilho, Tin Mtn. Conservation Ctr. (447-6991 or nbeem@tinmountain.org.
5. Baker Valley – December 17
Contact: Steve Rounds (764-9011 or ullungdo96@yahoo.com) or Nory Parr (786-9896 or northparr@gmail.com).
6. Hanover-Norwich – January 1
Contact: Dan Crook (448-2544) or Walter Ellison (rossgull61@gmail.com).
7. Laconia-New Hampton – December 31
Contact: Pam Hunt (753-9137 or biodiva@myfairpoint.net).
8. Concord – December 17
Contact: Robert Quinn (RAQbirds@aol.com [preferred] or 746-2535).
9. Lee-Durham – December 17
Contact: Kurk Dorsey (397-5844 or kd@unh.edu).
10. Coastal – December 16
Contact: Len Medlock (lenmedlock@comcast.net).
11. Keene – December 17
Contact: Phil Brown (pbrown@nhaudubon.org or 224-9909 x334).
12. Peterborough-Hancock – December 16
Contact: Dave Rowell (924-8790 or daverowell@myfairpoint.net).
13. Nashua-Hollis – December 30
Contact: Richard Bielawski (429-2537 or rbielawski@mac.com).
14. Lake Sunapee – December 16
Contact: Gary Stansfield (inuknh@gmail.com [preferred] or 863-8737)
15. Saxtons River (VT – NH) – December 16
Contact: Donald Clark (802-843-2347 or sapsbks@gmail.com).
16. Manchester – to be determined
Contact: Richard Bielawski (429-2537 or rbielawski@mac.com).
17. Isles of Shoals – tentatively January 1
Contact Ben Griffith (bgriffith@gmail.com or 603-801-1856).
18. Sandwich – December 30
Contact: Tony Vazzano (284-7718 or tvazzano@ncia.net).
19. Barnet (VT – NH) – January 1
Contact: Charlie Browne (802-592-3545 or ccbrowne63@gmail.com).
20. Grafton-Bristol – to be determined
Contact: Bill Belanger (455-3471, or penmen1@metrocast.net).
21. Crawford Notch – December 16
Contact: Craig Repasz (203-230-1697 or crepasz@hotmail.com).