New Hampshire Christmas Bird Count

2016 – Christmas Bird Count Preview

It’s time for the annual Christmas Bird Count! There are 21 counts in New Hampshire, and they are open to all interested birders. Many are run by New Hampshire Audubon Chapters. Check the list below for a count near you and contact the person listed if you’d like to help.

Each count takes place in a designated “count circle” on a specific day. The coordinator assigns teams to count birds in each section of the circle, but if you live in the circle you can simply count the birds in your backyard. Each count’s survey area stays the same from year to year, comprising a circle fifteen miles in diameter around a central point.

International in scope, the Christmas Bird Count is organized and compiled by the National Audubon Society, who coordinates all count circles so they don’t overlap. Each count picks its own particular survey day between December 14 and January 5. So join in a 100-year-old tradition and have some winter fun!

Results of New Hampshire’s Christmas Bird Counts are published in the winter issue of New Hampshire Bird Records. They are also available on the Christmas Bird Count web site.

1. Pittsburg – December 14
David Govatski (586-7776 or David.Govatski@gmail.com).
2. Errol-Umbagog – December 15
Contact: Chris Martin (224-9909 x317
or cmartin@nhaudubon.org).
3. Littleton – December 18
David Govatski (586-7776 or David.Govatski@gmail.com) or Mary Boulanger (444-6993 or mboul@roadrunner.com).
4. North Conway – December 28
Nora Dufilho, Tin Mtn. Conservation Ctr. (447-6991 or nbeem@tinmountain.org.
5. Baker Valley – December 17
Contact: Steve Rounds (764-9011 or ullungdo96@yahoo.com) or Nory Parr (786-9896 or northparr@gmail.com).
6. Hanover-Norwich – January 1
Contact: Dan Crook (448-2544) or Walter Ellison (rossgull61@gmail.com).
7. Laconia-New Hampton – January 2
Contact: Pam Hunt (753-9137 or biodiva@myfairpoint.net).
8. Concord – December 18
Contact: Robert Quinn (RAQbirds@aol.com [preferred]
or 746-2535).
9. Lee-Durham – December 18
Contact: Kurk Dorsey (397-5844 or kd@unh.edu).
10. Coastal – December 17
Contact: Len Medlock (lenmedlock@comcast.net).
11. Keene – December 18
Contact: Phil Brown (pbrown@nhaudubon.org or 224-9909 x334).
12. Peterborough-Hancock – December 17
Contact: Dave Rowell (924-8790 or daverowell@myfairpoint.net).
13. Nashua-Hollis – December 30
Contact: Richard Bielawski (429-2537 or rbielawski@mac.com).
14. Lake Sunapee – December 17
Contact: Gary Stansfield (inuknh@gmail.com [preferred] or 863-8737)
15. Saxtons River (VT – NH) – December 17
Contact: Donald Clark (802-843-2347 or sapsbks@gmail.com).
16. Manchester – December 18
Contact: Richard Bielawski (429-2537 or rbielawski@mac.com).
17. Isles of Shoals -December 31
Contact Ben Griffith (bgriffith@gmail.com or 603-801-1856).
18. Sandwich – January 2
Contact: Tony Vazzano (284-7718 or tvazzano@ncia.net).
19. Barnet (VT – NH) – January 1
Contact: Charlie Browne (802-592-3545 or ccbrowne63@gmail.com).
20. Grafton-Bristol – December 26
Contact: Bill Belanger (455-3471, or penmen1@metrocast.net).
21. Crawford Notch – December 17
Contact: Craig Repasz (203-230-1697 or crepasz@hotmail.com).